RISSC Presentation and Social night
At the request of several club members’, the club committee organised a social function which took place at the Crown Moran Hotel on Saturday 24 June 2006. The event also honoured the club football team which won the APFSCIL League Second Division title and gained promotion to the top division.
RISSC (London) Football Team Player of the Year Award
RISSC (London) Football Team - winners of the APFSCIL League Second Division Mick Coffey (player of the year and leading goalscorer) pictured with Gerry Smith







The club was delighted to welcome Gerry Smith, manager of the Republic of Ireland Amateur International Team as their special guest on the evening. Gerry, who flew in from Dublin that afternoon, was also the manager of the Republic of Ireland Under 20 side which performed with distinction at the FIFA World Championships held in the UAE during December 2003.

Many will remember that Ireland topped their qualifying group which included Ivory Coast, Mexico and Saudia Arabia and were extremely unlucky to succumb to Colombia at the quarter-final stage. That Irish squad included Stephen Kelly, Kevin Doyle, Stephen Elliott and Wayne Henderson who are now members’ of Stephen Staunton’s senior squad.

Player of the Year Runner Up Player of the Season
Karl McGee and Dan Healy being presented with their awards by Gerry Smith

Gerry Smith is currently making preparations for Ireland’s participation in the qualifying group stage of the UEFA Regions Cup. Ireland will face Lithuania, current European champions Spain and hosts France in an extremely tough Group, later this year. In recent weeks the team has played three friendly fixtures and scored 2 nil and 3 nil home successes over Northern Ireland and Spain with a further 3 nil away Victory in San Marino.

RISSC (London) wishes Gerry and his squad all the very best in their upcoming friendly fixtures and most importantly in their UEFA Regions Cup endeavours. Full details of all matches will be recorded in our usual front page fixture section.

Farewell to Liam Kelly Joanie Gallagher Memorial Trophy Presentation
Farewell to Liam Kelly Colin Gallagher presents the Joanie Gallagher Memorial Trophy

The highlight of the social evening was the presentation of the awards to our successful football team. Gerry Smith presented each squad member with his APFSCIL League trophy and then the various individual player awards were announced. It will probably come as no surprise to readers of our match reports that the ‘Player of the Year’ award went to Mick Coffey. Mick was also of course the recipient of the leading goalscorer award.

Club captain Karl McGee was runner-up in the ‘Player of the Year’ category and the ‘Manager’s Player of the Year’ award went to Dan Healy. The commerative award in memory of the late Joanie Gallagher was shared by Jon Carey and Liam Kelly.

Club Members - Joe Sleator, Sean McNamara and guest

A special award was made to club stalwart Liam Kelly who was leaving the region and relocating to Cumbria.

Team manager Paul Franklin thanked Gerry Smith for travelling to make the player presentations and the club committee for their efforts in organising the event. He also expressed his appreciation of all the squad members who had contributed to a very successful season for the football team.

Attendees enjoyed the early evening sounds provided by DJ Peter Keegan and following the awards ceremony, the music of ‘Poitin Stil’. The club is also appreciative of the catering facilities provided by the Crown Moran banqueting team.