U17s exit European Championships…29/03/2022

Our U17 side ended  their involvement in the 2022 European Championship with a two all draw against Bulgaria in Portugal this Tuesday afternoon. A disappointing first half saw us trail by two goals at the interval. The second period brought improvement  and goals from substitute Rocco Vata and Sam Curtis secured a deserved draw. RISSC London club member James McManus completed the full ninety minutes in midfield.

Team: Fintan Doherty; Ivan Savshak, Cathal Heffernan (c), Sam Curtis, Sean McHale; Gideon Tetteh, Justin Ferizaj, James McManus; Thomas Bloxham, Mark O’Mahony, Kevin Zefi
Rocco Vata for Savshak 46′
Caden McLoughlin for O’Mahony 46′
Luke O’Brien for McHale 59′
Franco Umeh for Tetteh 59′

Despite taking the lead twice, our U17 side conceded two late goals leading to a three two defeat by Finland which ends our hopes of qualifying for the finals of the 2022 European Championship. Cork City striker Franco Umeh scored  both of our goals while his club team mate Mark O’Mahony missed a 21st minute penalty which would have given us a two goal advantage.

Team: Fintan Doherty; Sam Curtis, Cathal Heffernan (c), Ivan Savshak, Luke O’Brien; Senan Mullen, Adam Murphy, Rocco Vata; Franco Umah, Mark O’Mahony, Kevin Zefi
Thomas Bloxham for Umeh 65′
Darius Lipsiuc for Murphy 71′
Sean McHale for Mullen 79′

Our U17 side suffered a disappointing four one defeat by mini-tournament hosts Portugal in their opening European Championship Elite Stage contest in Viseu this afternoon. The hosts took a 19th minute lead and doubled  their advantage in the fourth minute of added time at the end of the first half. Mark O’Mahoney reduced the deficit on 72 minutes but Ireland were unable to find an equaliser and suffered cruelly with the concession of two further goals in the fourth and seventh minutes of added time. 

The other Group 8 contest saw Bulgaria defeat Finland by one goal to nil earlier in the day.

Team: Conor Walsh; Sam Curtis, Cathal Heffernan (c), Ivan Savshak, Luke O’Brien; Darius Lipsiuc, Justin Ferizaj, Adam Murphy; Rocco Vata, Mark O’Mahony, Kevin Zefi 
Sean McHale for Heffernan 59′
Franco Umeh for Lipsiuc 59′
Dan McHale for Savshak 83′
Caden McLoughlin  for Vata 90’+8′