’88 and ’98 Celebratory Function update…14/08/2018


The Club continues to work on arrangements for our special dinner function celebrating the maiden appearance of our senior team at the European Championship Finals thirty years ago, in June 1988, and the double European Championship success of our U16 and U18 sides, twenty years ago, during the summer of 1998.

The event will take place in the upstairs function room at the Claddagh Ring in Hendon on Saturday the 6th October 2018 with arrival time targeted for 7pm and our three course dinner, followed by coffee/tea and mints, scheduled to commence at 8pm. We are in discussion with several possible guests and hope to have a further update in the near future. We aim to introduce our first guest(s) at c7.30pm and would therefore encourage your early arrival. Music will be provided by DJ Shox and we have a late extension.

Tickets costing £30 can be purchased through our online website facility and will also be available on the evening of our next club meeting on Friday the 31st August 2018. We are grateful to those of you who have already purchased your tickets and would encourage those members wishing to attend to make early application as we will have limited capacity to ensure maximum comfort and enjoyment for all attendees. 

Tickets for the event cost £30 and can be purchased at our August 31st meeting or online here:

Click here to order e-Tickets (£30 each)

Click here for Paypal/Credit Card orders

NewSunday evening in the Airtricity League…19/08/2018

Defending champions Cork City were unable to regain top spot in the Airtricity League Premier Division when they were held to a one all draw by visitors St Patrick’s Athletic in Turner’s Cross this Sunday evening. The ‘Rebels’ currently trail Dundalk on goal difference but the ‘Lilywhites’ do have two matches in hand and will themselves travel to face Sligo Rovers in the Showgrounds on Monday evening. 

NewPremier League on Sunday afternoon…19/08/2018

Burnley, currently a haven for Irish footballers with six players in their first team squad, went down to a disappointing three one defeat by visitors Watford at Turf Moor on Sunday afternoon in the Premier League. Kevin Long, Jeff Hendrick and Stephen Ward all completed the full one hundred and twenty minutes of their Thursday evening Europa League success with Hendrick and Ward the only two outfield players to retain their starting roles today while Long reverted to the substitute bench. Jon Walters was not in the midweek squad and was again absent today while Robbie Brady is still seeking to regain full fitness and young defender Jimmy Dunne has been involved with the U23 side. Shane Duffy scored his first Premier League goal and was named ‘man of the match’ as his Brighton & Hove Albion defeated visitors Manchester United by three goals to two at the AMEX Stadium this afternoon. 

NewChampionship action on Saturday afternoon…18/08/2018

The Championship continued on Saturday afternoon with Bristol City, for whom Callum O’Dowda was a late substitute, going down to a two nil defeat at home to Middlesbrough and Darren Randolph while Hull City were also defeated at home by the only goal from visitors  Blackburn Rovers who had Darragh Lenihan in central defence. Portman Road hosted the one all draw between Ipswich Town and Aston Villa for whom Conor Hourihane was a late substitute while Glenn Whelan remained on the bench. The New Den witnessed the two one success of Millwall over visitors Derby County with both Aiden O’Brien and Shaun Williams, who scored the second goal, completing ninety minutes for the hosts as did Richard Keogh for the visitors. Reading had Paul McShane and David Meyler in their starting eleven with John O’Shea an unused substitute for their one nil home defeat by visitors Bolton Wanderers for whom Marc Wilson was also an unused substitute. Bramall Lane hosted the two one success of hosts Sheffield United over visitors Norwich City. John Egan opened the scoring for the ‘Blades’ and was joined in the starting eleven by Enda Stevens while David McGoldrick was introduced on the hour mark. Midweek loan signing Ryan Manning was a late substitute for Rotherham United who went down to a two nil defeat by Leeds United at Elland Road. The late kick-off saw the trio of Alan Browne, Graham Burke and Callum Robinson start for Preston North End in their two all draw with visitors Stoke City for whom James McClean was also a starter. Burke was again on the scoresheet following his midweek goal in the EFL Cup. 

NewPremier League on Saturday afternoon…18/08/2018

Week Two in the Premier League kicked-off at 12.30pm on Saturday afternoon when Cardiff City played out a scoreless draw with visitors Newcastle United. The ‘Bluebirds’ included loan signing Harry Arter in their starting eleven while £4 million summer signing Greg Cunningham was an unused substitute. Ciaran Clark retained his starting position for the ‘Magpies’ but Rob Elliot continues to be out of favour. Seamus Coleman started for Everton in their two one success over visitors Southampton for whom Shane Long was a fifty eight minute substitute. Leicester City defeated Wolverhampton Wanderers by two goals to nil, with Matt Doherty scoring an ‘own goal’ at the King Power Stadium, before being injured out following a tackle which earned the perpetrator Jamie Vardy a red card. Cyrus Christie was a very late substitute for Fulham in their three one defeat at Wembley Stadium by hosts Tottenham Hotspur.  

NewFriday evening in the Airtricity League…17/08/2018

The Airtricity League Premier Division continued on Friday evening with Dundalk returning to the summit of the league table following their three one victory over bottom side Bray Wanderers in the Carlisle Grounds. Third place Waterford made the lengthy journey to face Derry City in the Brandywell and were rewarded with a two one success while old Dublin rivals Shamrock Rovers and Bohemian locked horns in Tallaght Stadium with the visiting ‘Gypsies’ scoring the only goal. The Markets Field tryst between hosts Limerick and visitors Sligo Rovers could go some way to deciding which of them faces the trauma of a relegation play-off and it was the hosts who suffered a severe setback with their visitors prevailing by three goals to one.

NewBurnley progress in UEFA Europa League…16/08/2018

With six Irish players in their senior squad, Burnley are the focus of increased Irish interest and this evening they progressed to the next stage of the UEFA Europa League with a one nil victory over Turkish side Basaksehir at Turf Moor. The first leg ended scoreless in Istanbul last week and this evening’s contest was again scoreless at the end of normal time. The deadlock was broken seven minutes into extra-time and the ‘Clarets’ will now face Olympiakos of Greece in the next round. Jeff Hendrick, Kevin Long and Stephen Ward all completed one hundred and twenty minutes this evening.