FAI AGM this Saturday afternoon…26/07/2019

The Annual General Meeting of the FAI took place in Trim this Saturday afternoon. Donal Conway was elected unopposed to the role of President with 134 votes in favour, 5 against and 1 abstention.

The role of Vice President was contested by Paul Cooke of Waterford FC and Gerry McAnaney of the Defence Forces with the incumbent Noel Fitzroy withdrawing prior to the vote. Cooke defeated McAnaney by 80 votes to 57 with 2 votes spoiled.

As previously announced, all of the existing board members had tendered their resignation letters and they will be replaced by a new interim board comprising Dick Shakespeare (UCD), Martin Heraghty (Sligo Rovers), Joe O’Brien (Colleges & Referees), Dave Moran (Leinster Senior League), John Finnegan (Munster Football Association) and previous board member John Earley (Schoolboys Leagues).

Four independent members will be appointed in due course by a nominations committee, chaired by Donal Conway. At least two of these directors must be female.

Acting General Manager Noel Mooney confirmed that he would return to his position with UEFA following completion of his six month temporary secondment.