Ireland U17s face Mexico in Cork…07/09/2021


The second contest between the sides took place at noon on Tuesday in Turner’s Cross where the visitors secured  a two nil victory. The first half ended  scoreless with the visitors taking the lead early in the second period and adding to their tally just after the hour mark. Ireland did have the opportunity to reduce arrears late on but visiting goalkeeper saved Kevin Zefi‘s penalty kick and also repelled his effort from the rebound.

Head Coach Colin O’Brien expressed satisfaction with the performance levels in both matches as Ireland look forward to the Group 5 qualifying round which takes place in Cork between the 7th and 13th October. Andorra, North Macedonia and Poland will provide the opposition with the top two progressing to the next stage.

Team: Conor Walsh; Luke Browne, Daniel Kelly, Cathal Heffernan(c), Ruadhan Kane; Justin Ferizaj, Darius Lipsivc, Liam Murray; Franco Umeh, Mark O’Mahoney, Kevin Zefi
Fintan Doherty for Walsh 45′
Trent Kone Doherty for Murray 45′
Caden McLoughlin for O’Mahoney 61′
James McManus for Lipsivc 61′
——————————————————————————————————————————–Our U17 side under the guidance of Head Coach Colin O’Brien recovered from the concession of a 14th minute goal from a powerful Mexico U17 side to score twice in the second half  for victory in the first of two friendly contests played in  Turner’s Cross this Sunday evening. Following the concession of the early goal, Ireland lifted  their game and came close with first half efforts from Kevin Zefi and Sam Curtis while the visitors also came close on two occasions. The equaliser came early in the second half  with an excellent header from local lad Franco Umeh. The winner came in the closing stages with substitute Mark O’Mahoney, another local, calmly slotting home the winner after breaking clear of the visitors defence. The sides are set to meet again at the same venue at noon on Tuesday.

Team: Conor Walsh; Luke Browne, Sam Curtis, Cathal Heffernan(c), Luke O’Brien; Justin Ferizaj, Rocco Vata, James McManus; Franco Umeh, Caden McLoughlin, Kevin Zefi
Alex Nolan for McLoughlin 69′
Mark O’Mahoney for Umeh 69′
Trent Kone Doherty for Zefi 89′ 


Goalkeepers: Fintan Doherty (Derry City), Conor Walsh (Sligo Rovers)
Defenders: Luke Browne (Shelbourne), Sam Curtis (St Patrick’s Athletic), Cathal Heffernan (Cork City), Ruadhan Kane (Klub Kildare), Daniel Kelly (Sligo Rovers), Luke O’Brien (St Patrick’s Athletic)
Midfielders: Justin Ferizaj (Shamrock Rovers), Gavin Hodgins (Shelbourne), Darius Lipsivc (St Patrick’s Athletic), James McManus (Bohemian), Rocco Vata (Glasgow Celtic)
Forwards: Trent Kone Doherty (Derry City), Caden McLoughlin (Villa real), Liam Murray (Cork City), Alex Nolan (St Patrick’s Athletic), Mark O’Mahony (Cork City), Franco Umeh (Cork City), Kevin Zefi (Inter Milan)