Irish Women lose to Germany…19/09/2020

Our senior women’s international team went down to a three nil defeat by Germany in this afternoon’s Euro 2021 Championship qualifier played in Essen. The hosts scored all three goals in the first half but a more disciplined second half performance kept the victors at bay.

Team: Marie Hourihan; Diane Caldwell, Louise Quinn, Niamh Fahey, Aine O’Gorman; Megan Connolly, Ruesha Littlejohn, Denise O’Sullivan; Katie McCabe(C), Rianna Jarrett, Leanne Kiernan

Substitution: Heather Payne for Kiernan 63′


Our Republic of Ireland senior women’s international team face a daunting challenge when they meet Germany in their Euro 2021 Championship qualifier at 1pm on Saturday afternoon in Essen. Ireland currently top Qualifying Group I with thirteen points from five matches but Germany, with a 100% record from four matches, are just a point behind. Ireland will travel to meet Ukraine next month before completing their campaign with the home contest against Germany in December.

Ireland manager Vera Pauw has named her 23 player squad for the Essen encounter:-

Goalkeepers: Courtney Brosnan(West Ham United), Marie Hourihan(SC Braga), Niamh Reid-Burke(Peamount United)
Defenders: Diane Caldwell(SC Sand), Aine O’Gorman(Peamount United), Claire O’Riordan(MSV Duisberg), Louise Quinn(Fiorentina), Harriet Scott(Birmingham City)
Midfielders: Megan Connolly(Brighton & Hove Albion), Niamh Fahey(Liverpool). Niamh Farrelly(Peamount United), Jamie Finn(Shelbourne), Ruesha Littlejohn(Leicester City), Ellen Molloy(Wexford WFC), Alli Murphy(London City Lionesses), Hayley Nolan(London City Lionesses), Denise O’Sullivan(North Carolina Courage-on loan at Brighton & Hove Albion)
Forwards: Amber Barrett(FC Koln), Kyra Carusa(HB Hoge), Rianna Jarrett(Brighton & Hove Albion), Leanne Kiernan(West Ham United), Katie McCabe(Arsenal), Heather Payne(Florida State University)