Senior squad preparing for action…30/05/2022


All 27 players selected have now reported into the training camp with captain Seamus Coleman, John Egan, Conor Hourihane, Enda Stevens and Caoimhin Kelleher, who all had late club commitments, slightly later than the main group.

A warm-up encounter comprising two 30 minute halves has already taken place with our U21 squad, who are also in camp,  providing the opposition.

Coach John Eustace , about whom there has been much speculation concerning him being the managerial target of two Championship clubs, is present. 

All indications are that the full squad complement, save for the suspended Josh Cullen, will be available for selection in Yerevan on Saturday. 

Republic of Ireland manager Stephen Kenny has named  a 27 man squad for the upcoming quartet of UEFA Nations League fixtures.

Whilst the inclusion of Festy Ebosele and Michael Obafemi is not wholly unexpected, that of 27 year old Blackpool winger CJ Hamilton certainly is.

Injury victims Matt Doherty, Andrew Omobamidele, Adam Idah, Callum O’Dowda and Connor Ronan are unavailable while James Collins, Aaron Connolly, Jimmy Dunne, Daryl Horgan, Jamie McGrath, Liam Scales and Mark Sykes have not been included at this juncture. The absence of a fully fit James McCarthy would suggest that his time at international level is at an end.


Goalkeepers: Gavin Bazunu (Manchester City), Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool), Mark Travers (AFC Bournemouth)

Defenders:  Cyrus Christie (Fulham), Seamus Coleman (Everton), Nathan Collins (Burnley),  Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), John Egan (Sheffield United), Darragh Lenihan (Blackburn Rovers), Ryan Manning (Swansea City), James McClean (Wigan Athletic), Dara O’Shea (West Bromwich Albion), Enda Stevens (Sheffield United)

Midfielders: Alan Browne (Preston North End), Josh Cullen (RSC Anderlecht), Festy Ebosele (Derby County), CJ Hamilton (Blackpool), Jeff Hendrick (Newcastle United), Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Jason Knight (Derby County), Jayson Molumby (West Bromwich Albion)

Forwards: Scott Hogan (Birmingham City), Will Keane (Wigan Athletic), Michael Obafemi (Swansea City), Chiedoze Ogbene (Rotherham United), Troy Parrott (Tottenham Hotspur), Callum Robinson (West Bromwich Albion)