McCarthy announces revised squad…15/03/2019

Ireland manager Mick McCarthy today named his revised twenty three man squad for the upcoming European Championship Qualifier against Gibraltar on Saturday the 23rd March 2019. The squad initially included Preston North End midfielder Alan Browne and Portsmouth striker Ronan Curtis but both have been forced to withdraw through injury. They have been replaced in the squad by Kevin Long and Josh Cullen who was not named in the original thirty eight man squad.

Following the announcement by Stephen Ward of his retirement from international football other notable absentees from the revised squad include Cyrus Christie, Scott Hogan, James McCarthy and Aiden McGeady. With the exception of McGeady, the other three have seen little front line action and their omission is not surprising. Also amongst the omissions are Daryl Horgan, David Meyler, Aiden O’Brien and Shaun Williams, none of whom come as a real surprise.


Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph(Middlesbrough), Mark Travers(AFC Bournemouth), Keiren Westwood(Sheffield Wednesday)
Defenders: Seamus Coleman(Everton), Matt Doherty(Wolverhampton Wanderers), Shane Duffy(Brighton & Hove Albion), John Egan(Sheffield United), Richard Keogh(Derby County), Kevin Long(Burnley), Enda Stevens(Sheffield United)
Midfielders: Harry Arter(Cardiff City-on loan from AFC Bournemouth), Robbie Brady(Burnley), Josh Cullen(Charlton Athletic-on loan from West Ham United), Jeff Hendrick(Burnley), Conor Hourihane(Aston Villa), Alan Judge(Ipswich Town), James McClean(Stoke City), Callum O’Dowda(Bristol City), Glenn Whelan(Aston Villa)
Forwards: James Collins(Luton Town), Shane Long(Southampton), Sean Maguire(Preston North End), David McGoldrick(Sheffield United)