O’Neill names 36 man provisional squad…06/11/2018

Martin O’Neill has named a thirty six man provisional squad for the upcoming senior international fixtures against Northern Ireland and Denmark. The squad includes Glenn Whelan who will captain Ireland in his farewell appearance against Northern Ireland before departing the squad. There are four players named in the squad for the first time, Caoimhin Kelleher, Jimmy Dunne, Ryan Manning and Michael Obafemi. Recent U21 captain Josh Cullen is a disappointing and surprising omission. The final reduced squad will be confirmed on Monday 12 November.
Goalkeepers: Colin Doyle (Heart of Midlothian), Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool), Sean McDermott (Kristiansund BK), Darren Randolph (Middlesbrough)
Defenders: Cyrus Christie (Fulham), Ciaran Clark (Newcastle United), Seamus Coleman (Everton), Greg Cunningham (Cardiff City), Matt Doherty (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), Jimmy Dunne (Heart of Midlothian-loan from Burnley), John Egan (Sheffield United), Richard Keogh (Derby County), Darragh Lenihan (Blackburn Rovers) Kevin Long (Burnley), Enda Stevens (Sheffield United), Derrick Williams (Blackburn Rovers)
Midfielders: Harry Arter (Cardiff City-loan from AFC Bournemouth), Robbie Brady (Burnley), Alan Browne (Preston North End), Jeff Hendrick (Burnley), Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Ryan Manning (Rotherham United-loan from QPR), James McClean (Stoke City), David Meyler (Reading), Callum O’Dowda (Bristol City), Richie Towell (Rotherham United-loan from Brighton & Hove Albion), Glenn Whelan (Aston Villa), Shaun Williams (Millwall)
Forwards: Ronan Curtis (Portsmouth), Scott Hogan (Aston Villa), Shane Long (Southampton), Sean Maguire (Preston North End), Michael Obafemi (Southampton), Aiden O’Brien (Millwall), Callum Robinson (Preston North End)