Senior Women crush Georgia…30/11/2021

Our Senior Women crushed Georgia by eleven goals to nil in tonight’s  2023 World Cup qualifying contest in Tallaght Stadium. With world ranked number 2 Sweden expected  to top Group A, the battle for second place and a play-off position appears to rest between Finland, Slovakia and Vera Pauw‘s Republic of Ireland. The disappointment of last Thursday’s one all draw with visitors Slovakia placed huge pressure on the team to emerge victorious from this Georgia contest and they responded in some style. Ireland hit the front on four minutes through an own goal  and were in total command throughout. Further first half goals followed from Kyra Carusa, her first for Ireland, Lucy Quinn and Denise O’Sullivan.

The second half was extremely one sided with Ireland adding seven more goals to their tally with O’Sullivan completing her hat-trick, skipper Katie McCabe scoring twice and Saoirse Noonan, Amber Barrett and Megan Connolly adding another three.

While Georgia were very poor opponents who had lost their three opening games to Sweden (4-0), Finland (3-0), Slovakia (2-0), tonight’s scoreline may yet reap benefit for Ireland in the battle to secure second place and qualification for the play-offs.

Team: Courtney Brosnan; Niamh Fahey, Louise Quinn, Diane Caldwell; Jessica Ziu, Ruesha Littlejohn, Megan Connolly, Katie McCabe (c); Lucy Quinn, Kyra Carusa, Denise O’Sullivan
Ciara Grant for Littlejohn 67′
Roma McLaughlin for Lucy Quinn 67′
Amber Barrett for Carusa 75′
Saoirse Noonan for Ziu 75′

                            P  W  D  L   F  A   G/D  Pts
Sweden                      5  5  0  0  11  1   10   15
Republic of Ireland         4  2  1  1  14  3   11    7
Finland                     4  2  0  2   7  5    2    6
Slovakia                    5  1  1  3   4  7   -3    4
Georgia                     4  0  0  4   0 20  -20    0

Our senior women played out a disappointing one all draw with Slovakia in this evening’s World Cup qualifier played at Tallaght Stadium. The contest failed to reach any great heights during the first 60 minutes with a below par Ireland comfortably outplayed by Slovakia who scored  their goal two minutes into the second half. Ireland found a greater urgency in the final half hour and equalised on 65 minutes through a fine finish from captain Katie McCabe who was accorded  the ‘Player of the Match’ award.  Striker Heather Payne worked tirelessly despite some hefty challenges from the Slovak defenders but the remainder of our players have had better days.

Team: Courtney Brosnan; Niamh Fahey, Louise Quinn, Savannah McCarthy; Aine O’Gorman, Jamie Finn, Megan Connolly, Denise O’Sullivan, Katie McCabe (c); Lucy Quinn, Heather Payne
Ruesha Littlejohn for O’Gorman 70′
Kyra Carusa for Lucy Quinn 84′

Vera Pauw has been forced to make a number of changes to our Senior Women’s squad for the upcoming qualifiers against Slovakia and Georgia. Injury rules out Leanne Kiernan, Ellen Molloy and Claire Walsh and they have been replaced by Isibeal Atkinson, Jessie Stapleton and Emily Whelan with Jessica Ziu also added to the squad. The third goalkeeping place will be filled  by Megan Walsh who has played for England at U17, U19 and U23 level and has now received clearance from FIFA to make the switch.
Head Coach Vera Pauw has named her 25 player Republic of Ireland Senior Women squad for the upcoming 2023 World Cup qualifiers against Slovakia on Thursday the 25th November and Georgia on Tuesday the 30th November with both fixtures scheduled  for Tallaght Stadium at 7pm. A third goalkeeper will be added to the squad once international clearance comes through from FIFA.

It has also been confirmed  that Wexford Coach Tom Elmes has replaced Eileen Gleeson, who has taken up the reins at Glasgow City,  as Assistant to Vera Pauw

Goalkeepers:  Courtney Brosnan (Everton),  Grace Moloney (Reading)
Defenders:  Diane Caldwell (North Carolina Courage), Niamh Fahey (Liverpool), Savannah McCarthy (Galway WFC), Aine O’Gorman (Peamount United), Eabha O’Mahony (Boston College), Louise Quinn (Birmingham City), Claire Walsh (Glasgow City)
Midfielders: Aoibheann Clancy (Wexford WFC), Megan Connolly (Brighton & Hove Albion), Niamh Farrelly (Glasgow City), Jamie Finn (Birmingham City), Ciara Grant (Shelbourne), Ruesha Littlejohn (Aston Villa), Katie McCabe (Arsenal), Roma McLaughlin (Central Connecticut State), Ellen Molloy (Wexford Youths), Denise O’Sullivan (North Carolina Courage)
Forwards: Amber Barrett (FC Koln),  Kyra Carusa (HB Koge), Leanne Kiernan (Liverpool), Saoirse Noonan (Shelbourne), Heather Payne (Florida State University), Lucy Quinn (Birmingham City)