U15s compete in UEFA Development Tournament… 19/10/2019

Our Republic of Ireland U15 Head Coach Jason Donohue selected a 20 player squad for a UEFA Quadrangular Development Tournament hosted by Ireland in Mayo this week. We are joined in the tournament by the Faroe Islands, Latvia and Luxembourg with matches taking place in Ballina, Castlebar and Westport.

Ireland commenced their challenge on Thursday afternoon with a three one victory over Latvia in Solar 21 Park, Castlebar. Ireland were the dominated side throughout the first half but were unable to translate their superiority into goals. The goal drought position was remedied in the second half with Belvedere forward Adam Murphy firing home on 49 minutes. Murphy was replaced four minutes later by Westport lad Adam Nugent and he certainly made an impact, scoring twice in the next ten minutes. The visitors did score a goal twelve minutes before the end but Ireland were always in command.

RISSC (London) member James McManus was introduced from the substitute bench on 70 minutes and is expected to see more match time in the next two fixtures.

Our second engagement took place in Westport on Saturday afternoon when we secured a comfortable four nil victory over the Faroe Islands. Local lad Adam Nugent opened the scoring in the first half and second half goals from Sam Curtis, an O.G. and the fourth, two minutes before the end, from another local lad and captain Daniel Kelly set the seal on victory. Our own James McManus started in midfield this afternoon.

Our final group contest is set for Ballina at 11am on Monday morning when Luxembourg will provide the opposition.

Team v Faroe Islands 19.10.2019
Conor Walsh; Trisden Wholey-Hughes, Daniel Kelly(C), Cathal Heffernan, Joe O’Brien-Whitmarsh; Eanna Fitzgerald, Cian Barrett, James McManus; Murray, Adam Nugent, Mark Tansey

Sam Curtis for Heffernan 41′
Finn Cowper-Gray for O’Brien-Whitmarsh 41′
Kevin Zefi for Tansey 56′
Giddeon Tetteh for Barrett 64′
Adam Murphy for Murray 64′
Caden McLoughlin for Nugent 64′
Justin Ferizaj for McManus 65′

Team v Latvia 17.10.2019
Shay O’Leary; Finn Cowper-Gray, Luke O’Brien, Cathal Heffernan, Sam Curtis; Justin Ferizaj, Adam Murphy, Joe O’Brien-Whitmarsh; Kevin Zefi, Caden McLoughlin, Giddeon Tetteh

Mark Tansey for Tetteh 49′
Cian Barrett for O’Brien-Whitmarsh 53′
Adam Nugent for Murphy 53′
James McManus for Ferizaj 70′
Murray for McLoughlin 71′