U15s kick-start 2020 with quartet of matches…18/01/2020

Our Republic of Ireland U15 team kicked off 2020 with a fine two nil victory over the Australian U16 side at the NTC Abbotstown early this Saturday afternoon. Ireland created three scoring opportunities in the first half but were unable to convert any of them, while the visitors had a fine opportunity just before the half-time break but they too were unable to score. Ireland made the breakthrough early in the second half with an excellent curling shot from Kevin Zeffi, his sixth international goal this season. Shortly afterwards, Alex Nolan added the second goal and thereafter Ireland dominated the match without adding to the goal tally.

Team: Conor Walsh; Finn Cowper-Gray, Luke O’Brien, Sam Curtis, Cathal Heffernan; Joe O’Brien-Whitmarsh, Pearse O’Brien, James McManus; Kevin Zefi, Alex Nolan, Adam Murphy
Cian Barrett for McManus 41′
Justin Ferizaj for O’Brien-Whitmarsh 41′
Shay O’Leary for Walsh 50′
Daniel Kelly for Curtis 61′
Liam Murray for P O’Brien 61′
Giddeon Tetteh for Murphy 61′
Alex Malone for Cowper-Gray 65′
Trisden Hughes for L O’Brien 65′


Republic of Ireland U15 Head Coach Jason Donohue has selected a 20 player squad for a quartet of matches to take place over the next seventeen days. We will take on the touring Australia U16 side at the NTC Abbotstown on Saturday the 18th January 2020 before flying to Murcia, Spain for a three match tournament involving the Czech Republic, Holland and hosts Spain.

Goalkeepers: Shay O’Leary(Shamrock Rovers), Conor Walsh(Mayo SL)
Defenders: Finn Cowper-Gray(Klub Kildare), Sam Curtis(Shamrock Rovers), Cathal Heffernan(Cork City), Trisden Hughes(Klub Kildare), Daniel Kelly(Mayo SL), Alex Malone(Shamrock Rovers), Luke O’Brien(Shamrock Rovers)
Midfielders: Cian Barrett(Shamrock Rovers), Justin Ferizaj(Shamrock Rovers), James McManus(St Kevin’s Boys), Adam Murphy(St Patrick’s Athletic), Liam Murray(College Corinthians), Alex Nolan(St Patrick’s Athletic), Joe O’Brien-Whitmarsh(Cork City), Pearse O’Brien(Oakwood FC Connecticut), Rocco Vata(Glasgow Celtic)
Forwards: Caden McLoughlin(Malaga), Gideon Tetteh(Shamrock Rovers), Kevin Zefi(Shamrock Rovers)

January 18 – Australia – NTC Abbotstown – 1pm
January 30 – Spain – Pinatar Arena, Murcia – 12pm
February 1 – Holland – Pinatar Arena, Murcia – 3pm
February 3 – Czech Republic – Pinatar Arena, Murcia – 12pm