U16s contest Aegean Cup in Turkey…21/01/2020

Our U16 side, with Head Coach Paul Osam at the helm, secured third place in the Aegean Cup with an excellent three nil victory over Albania in the 3rd/4th place play-off in Turkey on Tuesday morning. Edwin Agbaje put Ireland in front on 16 minutes and second half strikes from Glory Nzingo and Thomas Lonergan set the seal on an overall fine Tournament performance.


Reece Byrne; Harry Nevin, John Ryan, Sean Grehan(c), James Abankwah; Glory Nzingo, Zayd Abada, Cian Kelly; Dara McGuinness, Edwin Agbaje, Thomas Lonergan
John Joe Power for McGuinness 61′
Jack O’Reilly for Kelly 61′
Ben Curtis for Nzingo 72′
Conner Barrett for Abankwah 72′
Aaron O’Reilly for Grehan 77′
Gerard Killane for Ryan 77′

Our U16 side completed the Group Stage at the Aegean Cup with a fine four nil victory over Kosova on Sunday morning. Ireland were swiftly on the front foot and took the lead on 5 minutes through Thomas Lonergan. We scored the second on 21 minutes through Dara McGuinness and added the third just before the half-time break through Jamie Mullins. Another goal from McGuinness early in the second half completed  the scoring. Ireland finished as runners-up in Group A to hosts Turkey and will face Albania in the Third/Fourth Place play-off on Tuesday morning.

Later in the day, hosts Turkey played out a two all draw with Tanzania to top the Group while in Group B, South Korea defeated Albania by two goals to nil and Ukraine overcame Macedonia by one goal to nil.

Jack Ross; Harry Nevin, John Ryan, Ben Curtis, Sean Grehan(c); Cian Kelly, Glory Nzingo, Jamie Mullins; Tom Lonergan, Dara McGuinness, Edwin Agbaje
Conor Barrett for Nevin 41′
Jack O’Reilly for Kelly 52′
John Joe Power for Mullins 52′
Gerard Killane for Ryan 67′
Zayd Abada for Agbaje 67′
Aaron O’Reilly for Curtis 75′ 

Our U16 side went down to a one nil defeat by Tournament hosts Turkey in their second contest at the Aegean Cup this Friday morning. This was another very challenging contest which the hosts just about deserved to win.

Earlier in the morning, Tanzania defeated Kosova by four goals to two while in Group B, South Korea defeated Macedonia by three goals to one and Albania defeated Ukraine by one goal to nil.

Reece Byrne; Harry Nevin, John Ryan, Darragh Reilly(c), Aaron O’Reilly, James Abankwah; Jamie Mullins, Zayd Abada, Cian Kelly; Dara McGuinness, Edwin Agbaje
Sean Grehan for Abankwah 12′
Tom Lonergan for Mullins 58′
John Joe Power for Abada 78′
Glory Nzingo for Agbajke 80’+1′
Ben Curtis for Reilly 80’+1′ 

Our U16 side got off to a winning start in the eight nation Aegean Cup Tournament with a one nil victory over Tanzania in their opening contest played in Turkey this Wednesday morning. The only goal was scored by debutant Harry Nevin with just four minutes remaining of what was a very tough encounter.

Jack Ross; Harry Nevin, Ben Curtis, Sean Grehan(c), Conor Barrett, Gerard Killane; Glory Nzingo, John Joe Power, Zayd Abada; Tom Lonergan, Jack O’Reilly
John Ryan for Killane 47′
Cian Kelly for O’Reilly 47′
Edwin Agbaje for Power 55′
Dara McGuinness for Lonergan 55′
Jamie Mullins for Nzingo 62′
Darragh Reilly for Grehan 62′

Later this morning, hosts Turkey scored the only goal to defeat Kosova in the other Group A fixture.

In Group B, South Korea defeated Ukraine by three goals to nil while Albania secured a one nil success against Macedonia.


Republic of Ireland U16 Head Coach Paul Osam has selected a twenty player squad to contest the Aegean Cup Tournament which commences in Turkey on Wednesday morning. Ireland contest Group A with Kosova, Tanzania and hosts Turkey while Group B contains Albania, Macedonia, South Korea and Ukraine.

Reece Byrne(Bohemian), Jack Ross(Bray Wanderers)
James Abankwah(St Patrick’s Athletic), Conor Barrett(Birmingham City), Sean Grehan(Bohemian), Gerard Killane(St Patrick’s Athletic), Harry Nevin(Cork City), Aaron O’Reilly(St Patrick’s Athletic), Darragh Reilly(Sligo Rovers), John Ryan(Shamrock Rovers)
Zayd Abada(Shamrock Rovers), Ben Curtis(Shamrock Rovers), Jamie Mullins(Bohemian), Glory Nzingo(St Patrick’s Athletic), John Joe Power(Burton Albion)
Edwin Agbaje(Shamrock Rovers), Cian Kelly-Caprani(Bohemian), Tom Lonergan(St Patrick’s Athletic), Dara McGuinness(Shamrock Rovers), Jack O’Reilly(St Patrick’s Athletic)

Wednesday 15 January – Ireland 1-0 Tanzania – 9.00am
Turkey 1-0 Kosova – 11.30am
Friday 17 January –    Ireland 0-1 Turkey – 11.30am
Kosova 2-4 Tanzania – 9.00am
Sunday 19 January –    Ireland 4-0 Kosova – 9.00am
Tanzania 2-2 Turkey – 11.30am
Tuesday 21 January – Third Place Play-Off
Ireland v Albania – 9.00am