U17s defeat Israel in Championship qualifier…18/11/2019

Our U17 side, under the guidance of Head Coach Colin O’Brien, top the Group with maximum points following their four two victory over Israel in Turner’s Cross this Monday afternoon in their concluding Group Three Qualifying Round contest of the 2020 European Championship. 

Our opening victories over Andorra (6-0) and Montenegro (3-1) assured our progress to the next Elite Stage but Ireland were eager to maintain their winning form and collect maximum points and that ambition was achieved.

Oliver O’Neill, starting for the first time, gave Ireland a 17th minute lead and centre back Anselmo Garcia McNally added the second one minute before the half-time break. Second half goals from Evan Ferguson and Sinclair Armstrong added to the total while the two goals conceded made no impact on the outcome, they nevertheless will have irritated Colin O’Brien.

Andorra and Montenegro contested the other Group contest at the same time in St Colman’s Park, Cobh where Montenegro prevailed by two goals to nil.

D Rose; G O’Brien (C), O Hand, AG McNulty, T Adaramola; O Crowe, B McCormack, C Conroy; S Armstrong, E Ferguson, O O’Neill
Robert Mahon for Armstrong 68′
Olabosun Lawal for Conroy 76′
Andrew Moran for McCormack 76′
Kailin Barlow for O’Neill 83′
Calum Kavanagh for Ferguson 83′

            P  W  D  L   F  A  Pts
Ireland     3  3  0  0  13  3   9
Montenegro  3  1  0  2   3  4   3
Israel      3  1  0  2   3  5   3
Andorra     3  1  0  2   1  8   3

Josh Keely(St Patrick’s Athletic), Daniel Rose(Everton)

Defenders: Tayo Adaramola(Crystal Palace), Oisin Hand(Shamrock Rovers), Leigh Kavanagh(Bray Wanderers), Anselmo Garcia McNulty(Wolfsburg), Gavin O’Brien(Bohemian), Daragh Reilly(St Patrick’s Athletic)
Midfielders: Colin Conroy(Bohemian), Kyle Conway(St Patrick’s Athletic), Oran Crowe(Cork City), Olabosun Lawal(Watford), Ben McCormack(St Patrick’s Athletic), Andrew Moran(Bray Wanderers)
Forwards: Sinclair Armstrong(Shamrock Rovers), Kailin Barlow(Sligo Rovers), Evan Ferguson(Bohemian), Calum Kavanagh(Middlesbrough), Robert Mahon(Bohemian), Oliver O’Neill(Fulham).