U19s draw again with Sweden…11/10/2021

Republic of Ireland U19 Head Coach Tom Mohan used 19 players in this morning’s  friendly international against Sweden in Marbella which ended in a one all draw. Mohan made ten changes to his starting eleven from the side which drew 2 each on Friday afternoon, with Oisin Gallagher of Lincoln City the one survivor. In another very tight contest, Sweden took the lead on 24 minutes but Ireland equalised  through Aidomo Emakhu six minutes later. These two tough contests should prove beneficial to Ireland as we prepare for the European Championship qualifiers in Bulgaria next month with Bosnia & Herzegovina and Montenegro completing the Group. An injury to Ben McCormack provided the only real dampener on this Marbella venture.

Team: Arlo Doherty; Oisin Gallagher, Jevon Mills(c), James Abankwah, Val Adedokun; Kian Corbally, Ed McJannett, Harry Vaughan; Ben McCormack, Cian Hayes, Aidomo Emakhu

Josh Seary for Gallagher 57′
Luke Pearce for Emakhu 63′
John Joe Benoa for McCormack 71′
Tayo Adaramola for Adedokun 84′
Bosun Lawal for McJannett 84′
Anselmo McNulty for Abankwah 84′
Christiano Fitzgerald for Hayes 84′
Jamie Mullins for Vaughan 84′


Our Republic of Ireland U19 side under the guidance of Head Coach Tom Mohan played out a two all draw with Sweden in a friendly international played in Marbella early this Friday afternoon. Ireland took a ninth minute lead through Evan Caffrey and fifteen minutes later Zak Gilsenan added  a second. Sweden responded shortly before the half-time break from the penalty spot and scored the equaliser on 62 minutes. The sides will meet again at 11am on Monday morning in the same venue.

The matches form part of the preparation for the 2021/22 European Championship qualifying Group 6 in Bulgaria between the 10th and 16th November 2021 where Bosnia & Herzegovina and Montenegro complete the four nation Group.

Team: Dan Rose; Josh Seary,  Bosun Lawal, Anselmo McNulty, Tayo Adaramola; Oisin Gallagher, Christiano Fitzgerald, John Joe Benoa; Zak Gilsenan, Evan Caffrey, Jamie Mullins

Luke Pearce for Gilsenan 49′
James Abankwah for Seary 62′
Val Adedokun for Fitzgerald 62′
Harry Vaughan for Mullins 62′
Ed McJannet for Benoa 70′
Ben McCormack for Caffrey 70′
Jevon Mills for Gallagher 76′


Goalkeepers: Arlo Doherty (Leicester City), Dan Rose (Schalke 04)

Defenders: James Abankwah (St Patrick’s Athletic), Tayo Adaramola (Crystal Palace), Val Adedokun (Brentford), Bosun Lawal (Glasgow Celtic), Anselmo Garcia McNulty (Wolfsburg), Jevon Mills (Hull City), Josh Seary (Preston North End)

Midfielders: John Joe Finn-Benoa (Getafe), Evan Caffrey (UCD), Kian Corbally (St Patrick’s Athletic), Oisin Gallagher (Lincoln City), Ben McCormack (St Patrick’s Athletic), Ed McJannett (Luton Town), Harry Vaughan (Oldham Athletic)

Forwards: Aidomo Emakhu* (Shamrock Rovers), Cristiano Fitzgerald (Boavista), Zak Gilsenan (Blackburn Rovers), Cian Hayes (Fleetwood Town), Johnny Kenny** (Sligo Rovers), Jamie Mullins (Bohemian), Luke Pearce (Southampton)
* Match 2 Only **  Match 2 if not with U21s