EURO 2020 Finals draw on Saturday…30/11/2019

The draw for the finals of the 24 nation 2020 European Championships took place in Bucharest this Saturday afternoon. The sides finishing first and second in the ten qualifying groups were already known and they will be joined by the winners of the four play-off groups which are scheduled for March 2020.

Ireland will of course contest play-off Path B with Slovakia, Bosnia & Herzegovina and Northern Ireland. Should we be successful in the daunting challenge of gaining play-off victories away to Slovakia and the winners of the Bosnia& Herzegovina v Northern Ireland semi-final then we will participate in Group E alongside fellow hosts Spain together with Poland and Sweden.

The Group E fixture schedule is as follows:

Monday 15 June 2020     Path B qualifiers v Poland     Dublin  5pm
                        Spain v Sweden                 Bilbao  8pm  
Friday 19 June 2020     Path B Qualifiers v Sweden     Dublin  2pm
Saturday 20 June 2020   Spain v Poland                 Bilbao  8pm
Wednesday 24 June 2020  Spain v Path B Qualifiers      Bilbao  5pm
                        Poland v Sweden                Dublin  5pm

The Aviva Stadium will host the Round of 16 Knock-out contest at 5pm on Tuesday the 30th June 2020 between the winners of Group D [Croatia, Czech Republic, England, Path C Qualifier] and the runners-up in Group F [France, Germany, Portugal, Path A/D Qualifier].