Mick McCarthy announces squad for crucial contests…01/10/2019

Mick McCarthy has announced his 24 man Republic of Ireland squad for the upcoming European Championship qualifying contests in Georgia and Switzerland. Injury ruled out Shane Duffy, Richard Keogh and David McGoldrick while Keiren Westwood, Cyrus Christie, Ciaran Clark, Harry Arter, Robbie Brady, Shane Long and James McCarthy have not been selected. Westwood’s poor recent attendance record is likely to have mitigated against him while the other six have seen little or no club action in recent weeks. 


Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph(Middlesbrough), Kieran O’Hara(Burton Albion on loan from Manchester United), Mark Travers(AFC Bournemouth)
Defenders: Seamus Coleman(Everton), Greg Cunningham(Blackburn Rovers on loan from Cardiff City), Matt Doherty(Wolverhampton Wanderers),  John Egan(Sheffield United), Darragh Lenihan(Blackburn Rovers), Kevin Long(Burnley), *Enda Stevens(Sheffield United), Derrick Williams(Blackburn Rovers)
Midfielders: Alan Browne(Preston North End), Jack Byrne(Shamrock Rovers), Josh Cullen(Charlton Athletic on loan from West Ham United), Ronan Curtis(Portsmouth), Jeff Hendrick(Burnley), Conor Hourihane(Aston Villa), Alan Judge(Ipswich Town), James McClean(Stoke City), Callum O’Dowda(Bristol City), Glenn Whelan(Heart of Midlothian)
Forwards: James Collins(Luton Town), Scott Hogan(Stoke City on loan from Aston Villa), Sean Maguire(Preston North End), Callum Robinson(Sheffield United), Aaron Connolly(Brighton & Hove Albion)

Suspended for the Georgia match
Injury Withdrawal
Squad Addition