Provisional Senior Squad Announcement…27/08/2018

Manager Martin O’Neill has announced a provisional thirty one man squad for the upcoming UEFA Nations League contest against Wales in Cardiff followed by the friendly encounter in Poland. The most notable absentee and now primary talking point is Declan Rice who, it is reported, has been approached by England and has now requested ‘time’ to consider his position. Sean McDermott of Kristiansund BK in Norway receives his first call-up while fellow netminder Kieran O’Hara is also included but is expected to link up with the U21 squad who have two European Championship qualifiers during the same timeframe. International clearance has been obtained for Preston North End striker Callum Robinson while the uncapped Aiden O’Brien of Millwall is also included in this initial squad. The squad will be revised on Monday the 3rd September following the weekend league fixtures.
Goalkeepers: Colin Doyle (Hearts), Sean McDermott (Kristiansund BK), Kieran O’Hara (Macclesfield Town), Darren Randolph (Middlesbrough).
Defenders: Cyrus Christie (Fulham), Ciaran Clark (Newcastle United), Seamus Coleman (Everton), Greg Cunningham (Cardiff City), Matt Doherty (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), John Egan (Sheffield United), Richard Keogh (Derby County), Darragh Lenihan (Blackburn Rovers), Kevin Long (Burnley), Enda Stevens (Sheffield United), Stephen Ward (Burnley).
Midfielders: Harry Arter (Cardiff City), Alan Browne (Preston North End), Jeff Hendrick (Burnley), Daryl Horgan (Hibernian), Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Alan Judge (Brentford), James McClean (Stoke City). David Meyler (Reading), Callum O’Dowda (Bristol City),Shaun Williams (Millwall).
Forwards: Graham Burke (Preston North End), Shane Long (Southampton), Aiden O’Brien (Millwall), Callum Robinson (Preston North End), Jonathan Walters (Burnley).