U19’s commence European campaign…10/11/2021

Our U19 side commenced their 2021/22 European Championship campaign with a three two victory over Montenegro in Bulgaria this afternoon. Ireland were in total command throughout the regulation 90 minutes and two goals from QPR striker Sinclair Armstrong, who is currently on loan at Torquay United, and another from the ‘Riverstown Red’ Johnny Kenny of Sligo Rovers gave Ireland a comfortable lead with some 15 minutes remaining. There came quite a jolt in added time with an own goal swiftly followed by a second for Montenegro, however Ireland rode out the mini-storm to collect the three points.

In the other Group 6 contest, Bosnia & Herzegovina defeated mini-tournament hosts Bulgaria by two goals to nil.  The hosts did have a player dismissed shortly before the half-time interval.

Team: Dan Rose; James Abankwah, Bosun Lawal (C), Anselmo Garcia MacNulty, Tayo Adaramola; Jack Henry-Francis, Ed McJannet; Johnny Kenny, Evan Caffrey, Andrew Moran; Sinclair Armstrong
Aidomo Emakhu for Caffrey 72′
Sam Curtis for MacNally 86′
Kian Corbally for Henry-Francis 86′
Kevin Zefi for Armstrong 87′
David Okagbue for Abankwah 90’+2′

Republic of Ireland U19 Head Coach Tom Mohan has named  his 20 player squad for  the 2021/22 UEFA Championship qualifying Group 6 in Bulgaria between the 10th and 16th November 2021.

Wednesday 10 November:
Republic of Ireland 3-2 Montenegro 12.30pm
Bulgaria 0-2 Bosnia & Herzegovina   12.30pm
Saturday 13 November:
Republic of Ireland v Bosnia & Herzegovina  12.30pm
Bulgaria v Montenegro  12.30pm
Tuesday 16 November: 
Republic of Ireland v Bulgaria 12.30pm
Bosnia & Herzegovina v Montenegro  12.30pm


Goalkeepers: Arlo Doherty (Leicester City), Dan Rose (Schalke 04)

Defenders: James Abankwah (St Patrick’s Athletic), Tayo Adaramola (Crystal Palace), Val Adedokun (Brentford), Sam Curtis (St Patrick’s Athletic), Anselmo Garcia McNulty (Wolfsburg), David Okaghue (Stoke City), Sean Roughan (Lincoln City)

Midfielders: Evan Caffrey (UCD), Kian Corbally (St Patrick’s Athletic), Jack Henry-Francis (Arsenal),  Bosun Lawal (Glasgow Celtic),  Ed McJannett (Luton Town)

Forwards: Sinclair Armstrong (QPR on loan at Torquay United), Aidomo Emakhu (Shamrock Rovers), Cian Hayes (Fleetwood Town), Johnny Kenny (Sligo Rovers), Andrew Moran (Brighton & Hove Albion), Kevin Zefi (Inter Milan)