U18s to play Sweden friendlies…10/11/2021

Our Republic of Ireland Under 18 side conceded an added time equaliser for a two all draw in the first of two friendly internationals with Sweden in Marbella this Thursday afternoon. The Scandinavian side took the lead on 28 minutes and might have scored a second when they hit the cross bar just before the half-time break. The break proved beneficial for Head Coach Colin O’Brien and his players, with Ireland much improved in the second half.  Billy Brooks provided  the equaliser on 65 minutes and substitute Ben Quinn gave Ireland the lead minutes later and might have consolidated the lead  shortly after but was thwarted by a fine save from the Swedish goalkeeper. There was disappointment in the first minute of added time when Sweden equalised.

Team: Conor Walsh; Josh Seary, Alex Murphy, Ben Curtis; Tommy Fogarty; Rocco Vata, Harry Vaughan, Cian Coleman; Conor Barrett, Luke Pearce, Billy Brooks
Justin Ferizaj for Vata 67′
Ben Quinn for Barrett 67′
Edwin Agbaje for Brooks 67′
Tom Lonergan for Pearce 85′

Republic of Ireland Under 18 Head Coach Colin O’Brien has named a twenty two man squad for a brace of friendly internationals against Sweden in Marbella on Thursday the 11th and Sunday the 14th November. 


Goalkeepers: Stephen McMullan (Warrenpoint), Conor Walsh (Sligo Rovers)
Defenders: Ben Curtis (St Patrick’s Athletic), Tommy Fogarty (Birmingham City),  Cathal Heffernan (Cork City), Alex Murphy (Galway United), Harry Nevin (Preston North End), John Ryan (Shamrock Rovers), Josh Seary (Preston North End), David Toure (Shelbourne)
Midfielders: Conor Barrett (Birmingham City), Billy Brooks (Lincoln City), Cian Coleman (Leeds United), Justin Ferizaj (Shamrock Rovers), Joshua Ireland (Stoke City), Rocco Vata (Glasgow Celtic), Harry Vaughan (Oldham Athletic)
Forwards: Edwin Agbaje (Ipswich Town), Tom Lonergan(St Patrick’s Athletic),  Rio McEvoy (Bolton Wanderers), Luke Pearce (Southampton), Ben Quinn (Glasgow Celtic)