U17s commence qualifying campaign…07/10/2021

Our U17 team guided by Head Coach Colin O’Brien commenced their 2022 Group 5 European Championship qualifying campaign with a comprehensive five nil victory over Andorra on Thursday evening in Turner’s Cross, Cork. Justin Ferizaj gave Ireland the lead on 13 minutes with a fine individual goal and that was the only goal of the first half. The second half saw Ireland take complete command and a goal on 59 minutes from Mark O’Mahony, who had been introduced  from the substitute bench just two minutes earlier, was the forerunner for further strikes from Kevin Zefi (69′), Sam Curtis (74′) and Rocco Vata (76′). RISSC (London) member James McManus, son of long standing member Pat McManus, completed the full 90 minutes in midfield.  

Team: Conor Walsh; Luke Browne, Sam Curtis, Cathal Heffernan (c), Luke O’Brien; Justin Ferizaj, James McManus, Rocco Vata; Franco Umeh, Caden McLoughlin, Kevin Zefi

Mark O’Mahony for McLoughlin 57′
Alex Nolan for Uneh 70′
Darius Lipsivc for Ferizaj 80′
Liam Murray for Vata 80′

North Macedonia and Poland, kicked-off the qualifying process at 2pm in The Mardyke, Cork where they played out a scoreless draw.

Sunday 10 October: Poland v Andorra – The Mardyke – 2pm. RoI v North Macedonia – Turner’s Cross – 7pm

Wednesday 13 October: Andorra v North Macedonia – The Mardyke – 1pm. RoI v Poland – Turner’s Cross – 1pm


Goalkeepers: Fintan Doherty (Derry City), Conor Walsh (Sligo Rovers)

Defenders: Luke Browne (Shelbourne), Sam Curtis (St Patrick’s Athletic), Cathal Heffernan (Cork City), Ruadhan Kane (Klub Kildare), Daniel Kelly (Sligo Rovers), Luke O’Brien (St Patrick’s Athletic)

Midfielders: Justin Ferizaj (Shamrock Rovers), Gavin Hodgkin (Shelbourne), Darius Lipsivc (St Patrick’s Athletic), James McManus (Bohemian), Liam Murray (Cork City), Franco Umeh (Cork City), Rocco Vata (Glasgow Celtic)

Forwards: Trent Kone Doherty (Derry City), Caden McLoughlin (Villareal), Alex Nolan (St Patrick’s Athletic), Mark O’Mahony (Cork City),  Kevin Zefi (Inter Milan)