McCarthy names provisional 39 man squad…29/10/2019

Manager Mick McCarthy has named a provisional 39 man Republic of Ireland squad for the upcoming friendly international against New Zealand on Thursday the 14th November followed by the crucial European Championship qualifier against Denmark four days later. Four members of Stephen Kenny‘s U21 squad, five if we include Aaron Connolly who was capped last month, have been included – Caoimhin Kelleher, Nathan Collins, Michael Obafemi and Troy Parrott. None of those four players are likely to be included in the squad for the crucial Denmark encounter, confirmed by McCarthy himself and it would seem detrimental to the ambition and hopes of our U21 side who face Armenia on that same Thursday evening followed five days later by another European U21 Championship qualifier against Sweden. It would really be an unnecessary shame if the ambitions of our underage players were to be potentially derailed by the retention of any of those players for a rather meaningless friendly against New Zealand. The squad also includes a first call-up for Ryan Manning.

Provisional Squad (to be reduced next week)

Goalkeepers: Caoimhin Kelleher(Liverpool), Kieran O’Hara(Burton Albion on loan from Manchester United), Darren Randolph(Middlesbrough), Mark Travers(AFC Bournemouth), Keiren Westwood(Sheffield Wednesday)
Defenders: Cyrus Christie(Fulham), Ciaran Clark(Newcastle United), Nathan Collins(Stoke City), Matt Doherty(Wolverhampton Wanderers), Shane Duffy(Brighton & Hove Albion), John Egan(Sheffield United), Darragh Lenihan(Blackburn Rovers), Kevin Long(Burnley), Ryan Manning(QPR), Enda Stevens(Sheffield United), Derrick Williams(Blackburn Rovers)
Midfielders: Robbie Brady(Burnley), Alan Browne(Preston North End), Jack Byrne(Shamrock Rovers), Josh Cullen(Charlton Athletic on loan from West Ham United), Jeff Hendrick(Burnley), Conor Hourihane(Aston Villa), Alan Judge(Ipswich Town), James McCarthy(Crystal Palace), James McClean(Stoke City), Callum O’Dowda(Bristol City), Glenn Whelan(Heart of Midlothian)
Forwards: James Collins(Luton Town), Aaron Connolly(Brighton & Hove Albion), Ronan Curtis(Portsmouth), Scott Hogan(Stoke City on loan from Aston Villa), Shane Long(Southampton)(, Sean Maguire(Preston North End), David McGoldrick(Sheffield United), Michael Obafemi(Southampton), Aiden O’Brien(Millwall), Troy Parrott(Tottenham Hotspur), Callum Robinson(Sheffield United), Kieran Sadlier(Doncaster Rovers)