Mick McCarthy confirms revised squad…07/11/2019

Mick McCarthy has confirmed his revised 28 man squad for the upcoming friendly international against New Zealand on Thursday 14 November followed by the crucial European Championship qualifier against Denmark on Monday 18 November with both matches scheduled for the Aviva Stadium.

U21 defender Lee O’Connor, who is suspended for the Armenia match has been added to the senior squad and McCarthy has indicated that he may play a part against New Zealand. It is surprising that U21 captain Jayson Molumby, who is also suspended for the Armenia fixture, has not been added on the same basis.

Excluded from the provisional squad are:- Keiren Westwood, Caoimhin Kelleher (with the U21s), Cyrus Christie, Nathan Collins (with the U21s), Darragh Lenihan, Ryan Manning, James McCarthy (personal withdrawal), Ronan Curtis, Shane Long, Aidan O’Brien, Michael Obafemi(with the U21s) and Kieran Sadlier.

With the nagging injury doubt relating to Darren Randolph, the exclusion of the experienced Keiren Westwood is a surprise while the continued exclusion of Shane Long is difficult to fathom. 

Goalkeepers:  Kieran O’Hara(Burton Albion on loan from Manchester United), Darren Randolph(Middlesbrough), Mark Travers(AFC Bournemouth)
Defenders:  Ciaran Clark(Newcastle United),  Matt Doherty (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Shane Duffy(Brighton & Hove Albion), John Egan(Sheffield United),  Kevin Long(Burnley), Lee O’Connor(Glasgow Celtic), Enda Stevens(Sheffield United), Derrick Williams(Blackburn Rovers)
Midfielders: Robbie Brady(Burnley), Alan Browne(Preston North End), Jack Byrne(Shamrock Rovers), Josh Cullen(Charlton Athletic on loan from West Ham United), Jeff Hendrick(Burnley), Conor Hourihane(Aston Villa), Alan Judge(Ipswich Town), James McClean(Stoke City), Callum O’Dowda(Bristol City), Glenn Whelan(Heart of Midlothian)
Forwards: James Collins(Luton Town), Aaron Connolly(Brighton & Hove Albion), Scott Hogan(Stoke City on loan from Aston Villa), Sean Maguire(Preston North End), David McGoldrick(Sheffield United),  Troy Parrott(Tottenham Hotspur), Callum Robinson(Sheffield United)