Stephen Kenny names 27 man squad…28/05/2021


Stephen Kenny has had to make changes to his squad announced on Monday with the injury withdrawal of Darren Randolph (Hip), Aaron Connolly (Foot), and Callum Robinson (Achilles).  They are replaced by Mark Travers (AFC Bournemouth), and newcomer Sam Symonds (Peterborough United).


Manager Stephen Kenny has named  a 27 man Republic of Ireland squad for a 12 day training exercise in Spain which will incorporate friendly internationals against Andorra in Andorra and Hungary in Budapest. The squad includes four uncapped players in Daniel Mandroiu, Jamie McGrath, Chiedozie Ogbene and Andrew Omobamidele while injury rules out Robbie Brady, Alan Browne, Ciaran Clark, Jeff Hendrick, Kevin Long, Callum O’Dowda and Enda Stevens. There is also no place, at this juncture, for Mark Travers, Cyrus Christie, Darragh Lenihan, Conor Coventry, James McCarthy, Shane Long and Sean Maguire.  One other point of interest is the naming of James McClean as a defender.


Goalkeepers: Gavin Bazunu (Manchester City), Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool), Darren Randolph (West Ham United)

Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Matt Doherty (Tottenham Hotspur), Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), John Egan (Sheffield United),  Ryan Manning (Swansea City), James McClean (Stoke City), Lee O’Connor (Glasgow Celtic), Andrew Omobamidele  (Norwich City), Dara O’Shea (West Bromwich Albion)  

Midfielders: Harry Arter (AFC Bournemouth),  Josh Cullen (RSC Anderlecht), Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Jason Knight (Derby County), Jamie McGrath (St Mirren),  Jayson Molumby (Brighton & Hove Albion), Daniel Mandroiu (Shamrock Rovers)

Forwards:  James Collins (Cardiff City), Aaron Connolly (Brighton & Hove Albion),  Ronan Curtis (Portsmouth), Daryl Horgan (Wycombe Wanderers), Adam Idah (Norwich City), Chiedozie Ogbene (Rotherham United), Troy Parrott (Tottenham Hotspur), Callum Robinson (West Bromwich Albion)