Irish Clubs learn Europa League opponents…20/06/2018

The draw for the First Qualifying round of the 2019 UEFA Europa League took place in Nyon this morning and sees Dundalk travel to meet Levadia Tallinn of Estonia in the first leg with Shamrock Rovers hosting AIK of Sweden and Derry City hosting Dinamo Minsk from Belarus in their first legs.

The matches are set for Thursday the 12th and 19th July 2018. The second round contests are set for the 26th July and the 2nd August and if successful in the first round, Dundalk will meet AEK Larnaca of Cyprus with the first leg at home, Shamrock Rovers would travel in the first leg to either Cliftonville or Nordsjaelland of Denmark while Derry City would also travel in the first leg to either Dunajska Streda (Slovakia) or Dinamo Tbilisi (Georgia).

This second round also throws up an interesting clash between Aberdeen (Danny Rogers, Adam Rooney, Chris Forrester, Stephen Gleeson) and Burnley (Robbie Brady, Jeff Hendrick, Kevin Long, Jon Walters, Stephen Ward).

Cork City to face Legia Warsaw in Champions League

The draw for the First Qualifying Round of the 2019 UEFA Champions League was made in Nyon this morning with Airtricity League Champions Cork City drawn to face Legia Warsaw of Poland with the first leg provisionally scheduled for Turner’s Cross on Tuesday the 10th July and the second leg seven days later at the Polish Army Stadium in Warsaw. The winners of the tie will face the winners of the contest between Spartak Trnava of Slovakia and Zrinjski from Bosnia & Herzegovina on 24/25 July and 31 July/1 August.

Friday evening in the Airtricity League Premier Division

The Airtricity League Premier Division will enter its’ mid-season break following the five matches played this Friday evening. Current leaders Cork City scored the only goal to defeat Bohemian in Turner’s Cross while second place Dundalk trounced hosts Derry City by four goals to nil in the Brandywell. Third place Waterford were held to a scoreless draw by Bray Wanderers in the Carlisle Grounds while Limerick went down to a two nil defeat by Shamrock Rovers in the Markets Field. Richmond Park hosted the remaining contest which saw hosts St Patrick’s Athletic suffer an unexpected three nil reversal at the hands of Sligo Rovers.

Special Book Signing Event featuring Tony Cascarino

Special guest: Tony Cascarino

The Club, in conjunction with sponsors ‘BETDAQ‘, hosted a special book review and signing event at the Claddagh Ring on Friday the 8th June 2018. We were joined by Simon Hart, author of the book “World in Motion” the Inside Story of Italia ’90’ which was published recently.

We were also joined by eighty eight times capped Irish football legend Tony Cascarino who is featured in the book, together with Key BETDAQ Account Manager Trevor Dunne and a number of his colleagues. Simon provided a full house with some insight into the compilition of his book with special emphasis on the chapters featuring Ireland.

Tony Cascarino Event 4

Special guest Tony Cascarino was of course the main attraction and did he deliver. Tony regaled us with a whole plethora of highlights from his illustious playing career, right from the outset of his football journey through a chequered club career with both wonderful highlights and the occasional low point. His voyage through his magnificent Ireland career offered some amusing but always compelling insights into life with his team mates and of course the indomitable ‘Big Jack’.

The evening was rounded off with a splendid ‘BETDAQ’ presentation, providing real insight into the upcoming World Cup Finals in Russia, from Trevor and Tony, both of whom tipped Spain as their choice to lift the Jules Rimet Trophy.

Senior Women in seminal World Cup Qualifier…12/06/2018

Following their two nil defeat in Tallaght Stadium last Friday Rep. Ireland senior women again faced top seeds Norway on Tuesday afternoon in Stavanger where, despite a much improved performance, they lost to the only goal, a twenty fifth minute penalty.

The result ends our hopes of qualifying for the 2019 World Cup Finals. ‘Player of the Year’ Harriet Scott again missed out with a knee ligament injury while fellow defender Diane Caldwell was unavailable through suspension. Centre back Louise Quinn, who was forced off with a broken nose after just twenty eight minutes of Friday’s defeat, was not risked while experienced defender Niamh Fahey was another late casualty, joining the long term injury victims Megan Campbell, Ruesha Littlejohn, Roma McLaughlin and Stephanie Roche.